

United States of America. & Its Zurisdiction, P.S.A., Inc.

## www.gektpha.org

The Grand Encampment of Knights Templar U.S.A. and Its Jurisdiction PHA, Inc. is the national governing body of the Prince Hall Knights Templar, an integral part and Christian-oriented member of the York Rite of Prince Hall Masonry.

The Inter-State Conference of Knights Templar, which was a precursor to the Grand Encampment, was formed August 17-22, 1908, on a biennial basis in Chicago, IL with representatives from the Jurisdictions of Indiana, Kentucky, Michigan, Tennessee, Missouri, District of Columbia, Texas, Kansas, Louisiana, Ohio, Pennsylvania, and Illinois. The Jurisdiction of Canada expressed a desire to join so the name was changed to the International Conference of Knights Templar. The object of the Conference was to promote uniformity of ritual, drill tactics, standardization of Templar uniforms and insignia, and to bring the Fraters into a harmonious whole and inspire them in greater pride in the history and lessons of Chivalric knighthood. Many were permanent results of this Conference. Past Right Eminent Grand Commander James Francis Rickards (MI) was elected the first President. He was later the Sovereign Grand Commander of the United Supreme Council, AASR, Northern Jurisdiction 1911-1921. The following Sir Knights served as President of the International Conference of Knights Templar:

International Conference of Knights Templar 1)James F. Rickards (MI) 1908-1910 **President** 2)William H. Mayo (KY) 1910-1912 3)E.S. Dickerson (IL) 1912-1914 4)John Payne Turner (DC) 1914-1916 5)Henry A. Spencer (NY) 1916-1920 6)Marshall T. Clay (KY) 1920-1922 7)Joseph H. Sherwood (MN) 1922-1924 8)Albert R. Lee (IL) 1924-1926

During the Biennial meeting of International Conference of Knights Templar on August 21, 1926, in Philadelphia, PA, the members voted unanimously to change the organization's name to the Grand Encampment, Knights Templar of North America, Prince Hall Affiliated. Past Right Eminent Grand Commander Albert R. Lee of Illinois was elected the first Most Eminent Grand Master. The rest of the first elected officers of the Grand Encampment were as follows: R.E. Sir Levi Williams (NY), Grand Generalissimo; R.E. Sir Joseph Minor (DC), Grand Captain General; R.E. Sir Joseph Evans (MD), Grand Treasurer; R.E. Sir William H. Perry (KY), Grand Recorder; R.E. Sir William S. Lewis (PA), Grand Senior Warden and R.E. Sir Charles Gordon (OH), Grand Junior Warden.

The following Sir Knights served as Most Eminent Grand Master of the Grand Encampment of Knights Templar U.S.A. and Its Jurisdiction PHA, Inc.:

Grand Encampment of Knights Templar 1)Albert R. Lee (IL) 1926-1933 MEGM 2) Joseph Minor (DC) 1933-1939 3)John Luther Hubert (DE) 1939-1943 4) William H. Perry, Sr. (KY) 1943-1946 5) John Luther Hubert (DE) 1946-1947 6) Charles R. Wilson (NY) 1947-1952 7) William T. Brister (PA) 1952-1956 8)Sparkman Dorsey (PA)1956-1958 9)John D. Paley (TX) 1958-1962 10)Luther M. Wanzer (NJ) 1962-1968 11)William L. Alston (DC) 1968-1974 12)John A. Cade (AL) 1974-1976 13)Prilly Z. Wright (OH) 1976-1978 14)Raymond G. Cheek Sr. (MA) 1978-1980 15)Edward T. Diamond Jr. (MO) 1980-1982 16)A. Anthony White (MA) 1982-1984 17)Jerome M. Huffman (MI) 1984-1986 18)Leonard R. Robertson Sr. (OH) 1986-1988 19)Joseph "Ben" Jackson (DE) 1988-1990 20)Virgil H. Means (MI) 1990-1992 21)David V. Moore (OH) 1992-1994 22)Lawrence Wilkes (TN) 1994-1996 23)Henry Choya Smalls, Jr. (PA)1996-1998 24)Robert "Bob" Phillips (CO) 1998-2000 25) John C. Everett (PA) 2000-2002 26)Elma L. Kibler (DC) 2002-2004 27)Braxton W. Mitchell, Jr. (VA) 2004-2006 28) Jefferson A. Lofton, Jr. (MI) 2006-2008 29)Russell A. Earl, Sr. (FL) 2008-2010 30)Homer L. Buchanan (OH) 2010-2012 31)Arthur L. Parrott (IL) 2012-2014 32)Benjamin F. May (KY) 2014-2016 33)James W. Ellerbee (DC) 2016-2017 34)Samuel Davis (SC) 2017-2019 35)Melvin Callahan (TN) 2019-2021 36)Russell E. Duckett (NY) 2021-2023 37)Robert W. Glenn (AL) 2023-

For almost 100 years, the Sir Knights and Grand Commanderies of the Grand Encampment of Knights Templar U.S.A. and Its Jurisdiction PHA, Inc. have practiced the true principals of Knights Templarism for their many accomplishments and contributions to our communities worldwide.



Albert R. Lewis (IL) 1st Most Eminent Grand Master 1926-1933



James Francis Rickards (MI) 1st President of the International Conference 1908-1910

Sir Knights and may God continue to bless you and your family. Pray for me as I will always pray for you.

Sir Walter J. Sims, Jr., KCT, KYGCH Past Most Eminent Grand Commander Right Eminent Jurisdictional Deputy (PA) Most Eminent Honorary Past Grand Master Grand Encampment of Knights Templar U.S.A. and Its Jurisdiction PHA, Inc.